Quick Links

Home Page


Combined School

Google Services

Google Translate

Google Translate

Google Search

Google Search

Whole School

Learning at Millbrook      


Our broad and balanced curriculum promotes children’s intellectual, physical, personal, social, spiritual, moral and cultural development.  This includes the seven areas of learning when children are in the early years and the subjects of the National Curriculum as they age, including religious and health education.  Our curriculum is well-planned and structured to meet all children's personal, social, health and economic needs. 

A programme of assemblies and a range of exciting enrichment and extra-curricular activities enhance the curriculum further.  


Teaching Organisation and Methods

Teachers use a variety of strategies and methods to help children to learn and retain knowledge.  A blend of whole class, group and individual teaching is used to suit the lesson purpose and the needs of the children.  Our teachers use various skills, including demonstrating, explaining, instructing, questioning, evaluating and providing feedback.


The Early Years and Foundation Stage (EYFS) Curriculum

The Early Years and Foundation Stage includes children of nursery age (2 to 4+) and reception age children who will become of statutory school age during that academic year. Children work towards the Early Learning Goals, and their progress is tracked and reported to parents at the end of Reception.


We aim to help children learn through practical experience and play inside and outside of doors.  High priority is given to supporting language development and promoting positive attitudes towards learning. The Early Years and Foundation Stage Curriculum is planned in seven areas of learning. 


The three prime areas:

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development


The four specific areas:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design


The National Curriculum

The National Curriculum sets out what children between the ages of 5 and 16 should be taught.  The National Curriculum for children aged between 5 – 11 years is organised into two key stages:


Key Stage (KS)

Child Ages

Year Groups


5 - 7 

Year 1 and 2


7 - 11

Year 3, 4 5 and 6


The National Curriculum sets out which subjects children should study within each key stage. At Millbrook, English, mathematics and science are considered the core subjects.  Art, design and technology, geography, history, music, a modern foreign language and physical education are the foundation subjects.  Religious education is compulsory in both key stages, but because local education authorities decide what is taught, it is not part of the National Curriculum.  The school follows Buckinghamshire’s Agreed Syllabus for Religious Education. This has been established in consultation with representatives of all the major faiths. In addition, children follow a programme of personal, social, health and economic education.


Reception and Key Stage 1 use the "Essential Letters and Sounds" phonics scheme, and children in KS2 who require further support follow the intervention programme. French is taught to pupils in Key Stage 2, and younger children are introduced to different languages through activities such as answering the register in other languages.  Our curriculum is further enhanced by Philosophy 4 Children, which is cross-curricular and supports the development of speaking and listening, reasoning and critical thinking.